Appreciation

Since it’s Pastor Appreciation Month I thought I’d blog about my pastors. My father died when I was 14 years old. Thankfully, I  had some great men step up in my life that helped my navigate what could have been some very bad years. Pastor Sam Pawlak Sr. was one of those men. I learned the power of storytelling from Pastor Sam. I still remember his tales of Bears football, digging ditches, and how God created the hand of man to hold a golf club! My youth pastor John Harwell taught me the importance of faithfulness. He believed in me when everyone else wrote me of as some punk kid. I wrote about him here. Pastor Deon Lett taught me how to PRAY! I was amazed at how he could find a promise of God in just about every verse in the Bible. Louie Montoya gave me my first opportunity in vocational ministry. He taught me how to love people. It seems like everyday I recall some nugget of wisdom from Pastor Louie that helps me out of a jam.

I thank God for and appreciate these great men of God who’ve enabled me to be where I am today.

Leave a Reply

