We are NOT a Fight Church

This post has been about 18 months in the making and I feel that now is the time to share these thoughts.

First, let me say that I love John Renken. He was my friend before I became the lead pastor of Xtreme. He was my friend when he stepped down. He was my friend during my first year at Xtreme. He IS my close friend now. Our families spend time together and I consider him a brother. In fact, he and I lift weights together 3 times a week and I kick-box in his gym at least twice a week.  John is a former fighter who started Xtreme almost 12 years ago. He simply wanted to reach people with the gospel, most of whom the Church had done a great job of ignoring. I love him for that! For a couple of years Xtreme Christian Fellowship shared space with John’s MMA business and it worked. I am not ashamed of the history of our church.

However, we are not a fight church. The term “fight church” is in my opinion a gimmicky brand. Some use that term as a backhanded way of mocking SOME of the people we reach (those who practice or enjoy combat sports/MMA). Others use it because of their narrow view of the Gospel and their worship of tradition and form. For the record, I have NEVER called Xtreme a fight church. The demographics of Xtreme are for the most part what you would find at any church in Clarksville: young military or former military families from a variety of socioeconomic backgrounds. The main difference is that MOST of the people at Xtreme are there either because that is where they came to know Christ, or because they were at one time burned by what some would call “traditional” church. We truly are a church full of the formerly de-churched,  young Christians, and seekers. But we are not a fight church. The churches that bicker and complain, attack other Christians, split over the color of the carpet, and judge what they do not understand…THOSE are the fight churches ; )

If anything, here is what we WILL fight:

We will fight injustice.

We will fight hunger.

We will fight slavery.

We will fight the enemy who wants to steal, kill and destroy.

And we’ll do it all by bringing GRACE to a lost world by sharing and showing the love and Gospel of Jesus Christ.

One response to “We are NOT a Fight Church

  1. Carlo – well said. Articulate. Honoring to God and to John, your brother. Excellent. Keep pursuing the Kingdom in Clarksville. The enemy thought he took out one of God’s soldiers, but now he must suffer the vengeance of God’s unity, restoration and forgiveness!! The gates of hell wil NOT prevail.

    Love you guys! Clem

Leave a Reply

