Father Knows Best

“’For my thoughts are not your thoughts,neither are your ways my ways,’declares the Lord. ‘As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.'” (Isaiah 55:8-9 NIV)

It got really cold yesterday. While leaving the house to I told my son to put on his heavier coat. He informed me that due to the fact that I’m an idiot and he’s omniscient, he did not see the point of putting on the heavier coat. Okay, he didn’t really say that. But that is how I felt when he said “Aw, man. Why do I have to wear that thing?” I knew how cold it was, how cold it was going to be, and what was best for my son.

Something about my children questioning my parental guidance bothers the fire out of me. Yesterday, I discovered the reason why. It bothers me when my kids question me because through them, God is showing me how much it bothers Him when I do the same thing.

God speaks through His word and I procrastinate. God tells me to clean up something and I do a half-job. God gives clear instruction and I employ selective listening and only act on the stuff that is easy or comfortable. God says…and I ask “Why?”

I am not saying it is wrong to question God. What I am saying is that we have become way too familiar with The Sovereign God. Some of us need to do more obeying and less questioning and arguing. His thoughts and ways are above ours. He knows best.

Leave a Reply

