I Will Not Sell Out

I will not sell out.

Don’t get me wrong, there are times when I want to. I could make a lot more money as an associate pastor than I do leading a young church plant. I could make a name for myself if I got involved more in the advertising side of my radio show. We could change the mission, vision, and values of our church and attract thousands upon thousands. I could throw myself into the local political and social scenes. Someone even suggested to me that I should consider running for local office one day. I have considered it all and have come to the same conclusion:

I will not sell out.

God has called me to lead and to love the folks that nobody wants. He has called me to preach the Gospel unflinchingly. He has made me a warrior who will fight for the forgotten. I am not interested in making Christians comfortable. I am not interested in being controlled by the latest book, fad, or trend in pop Christianity.  I am not a politician, salesman, token ethnic  guy,  or errand boy. I am God’s child, a pastor, a soldier…and I will not sell out.

2 thoughts on “I Will Not Sell Out

Leave a Reply

