Day 14: Passing the Baton

“I never set out to make the homeless look innocent, but I have tried to explain that there are many who don’t want to be homeless, and others who have made bad choices but who deserve at least one second chance. The point is that we are all human.”

Prove It

imagesYesterday was my last “official” day of standing. There’s so much I’ve learned from this experience that I’ll probably be writing these blogs for awhile, if that’s okay with you. After all, the journey isn’t over—it’s really just beginning. So now I pass the baton to those of you who do care and are ready to prove it. This was never about me making a personal statement but about awakening our community and showing you that, together, we can make a difference and address poverty the right way.

IMG_2334Some of you might be under the illusion that I think all homeless people are innocent: they say their prayers every night, never fight, steal, or drink alcohol, and they have bright shiny halos. Well, I can assure you that’s not the case. I know far too well the dark side of homelessness. There are people out there who have mental illnesses and…

View original post 461 more words

Leave a Reply

