Pulling Out Your Best

A couple of times a week I get to train with some legitimate world class athletes. These guys (and a few gals) are WAY out of my league in regards to strength, endurance, technique, and most importantly youth! I wouldn’t trade my time with them for the world because they make me better.

Most of my PhD colleagues are very successful in the world of business and organizational leadership. Every semester I quickly realize that I am far from being the smartest guy in the room. I wouldn’t change programs for anything because my colleagues bring out the best in me.

My pastor friends are men of great honor and integrity. I feel like a new Christian when I spend time with these men of passion and prayer. I can’t wait for our time together because through them, I am challenged to grow in grace.

I am all for reaching the least and the lost. I am a teacher,coach, and mentor so I understand the importance of “pulling” others up. However, my most valuable relationships are the ones where I am the student. These relationships often kick my butt and pull the best out of me.

How about you? Do you run from intimidating or challenging relationships or do you thrive because of them?

Leave a Reply

