Biggest Mistakes I’ve Made in Ministry

I’ve been in vocational pastoral ministry for 10 years. During that short time I’ve witnessed some legitimate miracles and life change.

I’ve also screwed up… a lot!

Over the next few days I’ll share some of the  biggest mistakes I’ve made in ministry:

1. Answering questions that no one asked.

I remember putting hours of research and energy into creating a ministry for single adults over the age of 40. I had promo material, teaching outlines, planned activities, and a vision to help what is an often overlooked demographic in local church ministry. However, I never asked any of the singles over 40 if they actually wanted or needed my brilliant idea. In fact, our church did a pretty good job of connecting with these folks through other ministries. I had solutions to a problem that only existed from my limited perspective.

I quickly realized that titles and position do not always equal knowledge and wisdom. The best way to help people is to get out of the office and actually listen to those you are called to serve.

More tomorrow.

4 thoughts on “Biggest Mistakes I’ve Made in Ministry

Leave a Reply

