The Hardest Day

March 17, 2003. Hands down the hardest day of my life. I spent that day on a plane, in Sicily, on a plane again, and then in Kuwait. I was on my way to Iraq. We actually had a couple of SCUD  drills that day. Anyway, by the time I was able to get to a phone to call home I was spent and stressed out. The war was starting within a couple of hours and everyone was anxious. I called home and received the news from Jaemi that our girls were gone. We had just lost our twin daughters.

The days ahead were full of more traveling…Dubai…Milan…Atlanta…home. I rode the “roller coaster” of of fear, pain, sadness, and confusion. My mind was still overseas and my heart was a mess. BUT, those days were also full of grace. Those days were full of a God who knows, who is near, and who never fails. 12 years later I can look back and see a million great things that came out of March 17, 2003.

Thank God for the hardest day.

(My wife shared her thoughts here.)

This post is an adaptation of this post.

Leave a Reply

