Christian People, Good Music

I don’t believe there is such a thing as “Christian music.” Jesus died, was buried, and rose again for people…not power chords, eight notes, and catchy hooks. The music is the vehicle. The people are the ambassadors who carry the message. So, I don’t listen to a lot of “Christian radio” because honestly, in my opinion the music is not that great. I listen to music that allows me to worship God, enjoy His creation, and function at a high level. Sometimes, that music is an old-school Fred Hammond gospel song. Other times, that music is a timeless masterpiece such as Rubber Soul or Revolver (the Luke-Acts of the Beatles catalogue). I don’t need to hear “Jesus, Glory, Jesus, Glory” in every song in order to experience the glory of Jesus. I don’t need to hear a sermon on the importance of being a good “witness” when I’m practicing double-leg takedowns. I need good music. Don’t get me wrong, I do believe there is such a thing as very bad, very evil, avoid at all cost music (and lyrics), but that is for another post. Here is what I’m listening to and why:

Emory Anderson – The Entree

I am not a fan of “Christian” rap. I feel like the genre has been in catch-up mode for 20 years. However, Emory Anderson is the real deal as an MC and as a man of God. I gave up on “Christian” rap a long time ago. Emory’s new album turned me into a new believer. Pick up a copy today!

Hillsong United – Empires

A legendary worship band that in my opinion finally made a record that moves far beyond what church folks expect from a worship album. This is my “prayer closet” album as of late.

What are you listening to?

Leave a Reply

