Training Camp

meandjamesrolling

In 6 weeks I’ll be competing for the FIRST time in 2 Jiu Jitsu tournaments. I’ve practiced Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for 3 years and I never had the desire to compete…until now. The first 3 years of my journey were all about falling in love with a martial art and a lifestyle for therapeutic and intrinsic reasons. I have a couple of service-connected health issues and I used to weigh well over 300 pounds. Without a doubt, jiu jitsu has helped me overcome some serious health setbacks. Now, I am ready to test myself in a new way.

So, 2 weeks ago I started a training camp that consists of a regimented meal plan, HOURS of technical drilling, a world-class strength and condition program, and live sparring with some of the best combat athletes around.Why?

WHY NOT? I’d rather lose than live my life wondering “What if?”.

I am blessed beyond measure to have access to the most proficient and decorated BJJ fighters in our state. I’m also blessed to have an army of brothers and sisters who “keep it real” on and off of the mats. Here’s the thing though, you can have all of the access in the world, all of the best equipment, and tons of resources. However, none of that matters if YOU don’t put in the work.

That reminds me of life as a Christ follower. We have the Holy Spirit, the Scriptures, and the Church. However, if we don’t make disciples, if we don’t serve the broken, and if we don’t live as Jesus lived, then all we really have is a bunch of religion.

Don’t sit around wondering, “What if?” Get busy living!

4 thoughts on “Training Camp

Leave a Reply

