Parenting by Putting Feet to Faith – Repost

I love the phase of life that I’m in. I have a teenager who is learning to drive and a 5th grader who is going on 20. I love being a father!

However, parenting is tough. It’s not tough because of the cliché issues associated with raising respectful, God-loving kids. It’s tough because every encounter with my children brings me face-to-face with my own shortcomings.

When I give a lecture on the importance of being honest and open, the Holy Spirit reminds me to practice what I preach. When I blow up over something relatively trivial, the Holy Spirit gently reminds me to be quick to listen, slow to speak, and slow to become angry. When I hand out discipline via the removal of a privilege or blessing (TV, video game, etc.), I am forced to confront my propensity for works-based theology.

Parenting forces us to put feet to our faith. If we aren’t living it out at home, we are probably not living it at all.

Leave a Reply

