Automate the Important Part 2 – Productivity

One of the questions that I am most frequently asked is, “How do you find the time to…?” The answer is quite simple: I don’t have to FIND the time to do anything…because I never LOST the time in the first place. It all comes down to working smarter AND harder, living on a time budget, and saying “NO” to distractions. You can read more about that in my book about reading. 

Last week I shared some of the apps that I use to automate the important spiritual/health related areas of my life. Here are some of the tools that I use to manage my time and productivity:

G Suite – I’m all in on the G Suite (formerly known as Google Apps). Right now I am able to sync and manage 6 different email addresses and calendars through the G Suite and it flows seamlessly across all of my devices (except for Apple Watch…for now). Google Drive lets me coordinate projects with my team and my clients across all of my devices. Plus, I almost exclusively do all of my writing in Google Docs. If you aren’t taking advantage of G Suite you are probably doing things the hard way.

Trello – I love hanging out with our team. I enjoy talking strategy with my clients. I love productive days where a TON gets done. However, I HATE unproductive, unnecessary, or redundant meetings. That’s why I use Trello to manage projects. This app is very intuitive, works across multiple devices, and allows me to manage large projects without having to sit in endless meetings. Trello has helped me navigate large organizational moves and large events from start to finish. Shout out to my battle buddy and systems guru extraordinaire Lyndsey Thomason for putting me on to this app!

Forest – This app is 100 percent silly and 100 percent necessary for me. I’m about to approach another long writing season and I need to focus large blocks of time to getting words on paper. This app takes the simplicity of a game and combines it with the powerful concept of focus. I owe much of my doctoral dissertation to this simple app. If you struggle with smartphone addiction, try Forest.

FB Pages and Messenger – Facebook is a necessary evil. I accept that. Although FB proper is a MAJOR time suck, I do appreciate the way FB pages allows me to monitor several organizational sites in a separate interface. I really love the analytics section. I also find myself using FB messenger more as an “email-lite” for several different clients and teams.

I’ll say it again, no matter what you are doing in life: stop making excuses. Automate the important. It’s that easy.

Leave a Reply

